Patience, Please, the story of my eyes

Yes, I know the Prayer for Patience: God, please grant me the gift of patience, RIGHT NOW!

For those who don’t know, I’ve now had ten surgeries on my eyes, starting with detached retinas in 1992 and 1993.  After those surgeries I had to be face down at all times for almost six months. It was one of those things I never would have thought I could do, to stay in awkward positions and wait, hoping I wouldn’t go blind. I was incredibly frustrated at first, but gradually came to understand that I had to do it to have any prayer of not being blind. Despite my difficulties, it was nothing compared to people who are in a body cast, are quadriplegic, or all sorts of other dire circumstances. I did learn a fair amount of patience, and it has carried over to other parts of my life pretty well.

So, why am I writing this now about what happened almost twenty years ago?  I’m in a position of needing patience once again.  For the last 19 years, since the last retina surgery, I’ve used a contact lens to have any useful vision in my left eye. This is because in order to save the eye they had to remove the internal lens and at that time couldn’t implant another one for several reasons. The contact lens was often frustrating, but was a blessing, since it allowed both eyes to work together. 

Recently a local eye surgeon told me he could implant a lens in my eye and thus allow me to get rid of the contact lens.  We investigated it and liked the prospects, though as with all medical procedures there are no guarantees. Over several appointments he measured my eyes and did all the things necessary to prepare. I of course hoped that the new lens would immediately correct things and I’d have the excellent vision I do in my right eye.  Well, that hasn’t been the case. Last Wednesday the surgery was done quickly and I knew I could see better than I could before without a contact lens, but nowhere near as well as I could with the old contact in.  What is that all about?

Well, at the follow up on Friday I learned that the surgery had gone well and the lens was stitched in place behind the cornea in the anterior chamber and in front of the iris.

Image

He explained that although the vision isn’t great yet, it should improve when he removes the stitches in three weeks, and yet more after weeks for healing and the body adjusting. So, it is more waiting to see what happens, praying for total success, and realizing it may not be all I had hoped for.  But this too shall pass, and I’ll learn to be even more patient.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Patience, Please, the story of my eyes

Leave a Reply

