Around the world 2016, Day (-14)

This is one of those days with many relationships to others. It is a week before Christmas, two weeks before New Years, seven weeks before my 73rd birthday (5 February 2016).  Yes, I’m a calendar and numbers geek, but most of my friends knew that already.  I spent 14 years living at an address that irritated me.  It was 3577.  It should have been 3579, but wasn’t, for no good reason other than some guy in some city office said so.  I wasn’t irritated enough to try to change it, but it was always there.

It is an emotional time of the year for so many reasons. Family is far away for both of us. Gail’s only relatives are in the bay area. Our kids are in Idaho, Illinois, and New Mexico.  We’re not going anywhere this holiday other than the three church services we’re serving at, plus stores and restaurants.  We’re not complaining, and have made our choices. Two weeks from the time I’m typing this we should be getting settled in our room at the W Hotel in Fort Lauderdale for two nights.  We’ll be tired after a night and day of traveling, but we’ll be on our way on our biggest adventure yet.

Both of us miss our parents and siblings who’ve gone on ahead of us.  Gail’s sister passed away at Thanksgiving two years ago, so that’s another thing that made that a tough holiday. We both remember some 70 years of “good old days” in our memories.  Growing up, going away, getting married, having kids, getting married, and so on, they all splash around in my brain.  All of those memories are good for us, even those with sad parts and special memories of those we miss so much.

I’m a guy who is particularly emotional with lots of music, and frequently has tears down his face during certain songs. Tears always appear during Taps, Eternal Father Strong to Save (The Navy Hymn), Let the Day Begin, Kyrie, Amazing Grace, The Road Goes On Forever, It’s My Life, Livin’ On a Prayer, and Highwayman.  The list is obviously eclectic and far from complete.

So what inspired this digression?  As I started this entry, a Jon Bon Jovi compilation of performances started playing on Palladia and I got blindsided by two of his songs, which again brought tears to my cheeks.

She says, “We’ve gotta hold on to what we’ve got.

It doesn’t make a difference if we make it or not.

We’ve got each other and that’s a lot.

For love we’ll give it a shot.”

[Chorus:]

Whoa, we’re half way there

Whoa, livin’ on a prayer

Take my hand and we’ll make it – I swear

Whoa, livin’ on a prayer

 and 

[Chorus:]

It’s my life

It’s now or never

I ain’t gonna live forever

I just want to live while I’m alive

(It’s my life)

My heart is like an open highway

Like Frankie said

I did it my way

I just wanna live while I’m alive

It’s my life

And those Bon Jovi songs got me off track.  But I’m never “on track” unless I’m following what is on my calendar on the phone, ipads, and computer (all Apple, all synced at all times).  Even then it takes Gail to make sure I check the calendar and do what I should.

So we live our life, do “crazy things” like taking round the world cruises, and so forth.  After all, it is now or never, we know we won’t be around this earth forever, so we’re doing it our way.  Maybe not your way, but our way.  And we’ll be loving every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

